Know Your Newly-Elected Executive Council Members

Seven persons have been elected to serve on the Executive Council of The Church of Pentecost worldwide.

They are Apostles Yaw Adjei-Kwarteng (Hohoe Area Head), Samuel Osei Asante (Koforidua Area Head) and Isaac Kotei Djani (Tamale Area Head), all re-elected to serve another 5-year term on the Council.

The new entrants are Apostles Sylvester Arhin (Assin Foso Area Head), Dr Dela Quampah (Head of Theology Department, School of Theology, Leadership and Missions at the Pentecost University), Mike Etrue (Kaneshie Area Head) and James Raj Sundaram (India National Head), who is representing the nations outside Africa on the Council.

The voting, which was done electronically since Councillors could not meet physically following the COVID-19 pandemic, took place on Wednesday, June 3, 2020, at the on-going 44th General Council Meetings of the Church which is being held via Zoom.

Voting started in the early hours of Wednesday as Councilors in Ghana converged at their various Area Offices, while their counterparts in the external branches convened at their respective National Offices to cast their ballots.

However, some Councillors in the external branches whose countries are still under lockdown voted from their homes.

At the end of the polls, a total of 1,194 Councillors cast their ballots out of the 1,237 registered Councillors. 967 of the votes were cast by Councilors in Ghana, while the remaining 227 votes came through from Councillors outside Ghana.

The entire election process lasted for just an hour, with more than 1,000 Councillors casting their ballots in less than 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, the following members of the Council have completed their terms and will be replaced by the newly elected members. They are Apostles Emmanuel Anthony Owusu (Canada National Head), Apostle David Tettey Tekper (Achimota Area Head), Joseph Assabil (Takoradi Area Head), and Apostle Mike Obeng Andoh (Sunyani Area Head).

The Executive Council is headed by the Chairman of the Church and executes policies and decisions of the General Council. While its members are elected by the General Council, the Executive Council is responsible for the callings, transfers, appointments, etc. of ministers and other high-level officials of the Church, with the approval of the General Council.


Tags: No tags

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *