GPCC Congratulates President-Elect Nana Akufo-Addo

The Ghana Pentecostal and Charismatic Council (GPCC) has congratulated H.E. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo on his re-election for a second term as President of the Republic following the declaration by the Electoral Commission (EC) on Wednesday, December 9, 2020.

This was contained in a statement issued on December 10, 2020, by the General Secretary, Rev. Emmanuel T. Barrigah, on behalf of the National Executive Council.

The GPCC also congratulated the other presidential candidates, especially H.E. John Dramani Mahama of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) for putting up a great contest.

“Despite rejecting the results of the elections as declared by the EC, which is a constitutional right to exercise, we would appeal to and encourage H.E. John Dramani Mahama and the NDC to follow the laid down constitutional processes to seek redress if they so desire,” the statement read.

The Council also lauded the EC and its staff, the Security agencies, the National Peace Council, the Media, CSOs and all others contributed directly or indirectly towards the peaceful electoral outcome.

“Above all, we wish to congratulate all Ghanaians for your show of commitment and the sacrifices you have made throughout the entire electoral process leading to this outcome in the midst of the deadly COVID-19 Pandemic.

“To the families of those who unfortunately lost their lives or got maimed as a result of the electoral process, we extend our heartfelt sympathies and call on Government to ensure that perpetrators of such violent and criminal acts against fellow citizens are brought to justice. God bless our homeland Ghana and make our nation great and strong. Long live Ghana!” it further read.

President Nana Akufo-Addo, who led the New Patriotic Party into the December 7 presidential elections, obtained 6,730,413 votes, representing 51.59% while the flagbearer of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), John Dramani Mahama placed second, garnering 6,214,889 which represents 47.36% of the total ballots cast.

The results were declared yesterday by the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission (EC), Mrs Jean Mensah.


Tags: No tags

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *