Jubilee House

Gov’t Renames Flagstaff House, Jubilee House

The government has renamed the seat of the Presidency, from Flagstaff House to Jubilee House.

Communications Director at the Presidency, Eugene Arhin, confirmed this to Joy News.

In an interview on Joy News’ AM Show, Mr Arhin said “the seat of government will now be known and referred to as Jubilee House.

“The President has signed an Executive Order to that effect, which has been gazetted and so Jubilee House will now be the official name of the seat of government,” he continued.

This is the second time in nine years that the name of the seat of government has been changed.

The Kufuor government which built the current edifice housing the presidency named it Jubilee House because it was built in 2007 to coincide the 50th anniversary of Ghana’s independence.

But the President John Atta Mills government renamed it Flagstaff House, the original name of building around the same area which housed the President.

Mr Arhin said the change is an affirmation of the decision of former president John Agyekum Kufuor and that although the John Atta Mills administration renamed it Flagstaff House, there is no record anywhere indicating the change of name.

“There is no record anywhere that Jubilee House was renamed Flagstaff House. So the president as a result of Article 58 of the constitution and the power vested in him by that article has named the Flagstaff House as Jubilee House,” he said.

Mr Arhin, however, denied the renaming was planned to coincide with the president’s birthday, he says “it is purely coincidental.”

Source: Myjoyonline.com


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *