Jean Mensah

IEA’s Jean Mensa Nominated EC Chairperson

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has appointed the head of the Institute for Economic Affairs (IEA) Jean Mensa as the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission.

Below is the full statement signed by the Chief of Staff Frema Opare:

The President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has, by letter dated, ‘Thursday, 19th July, 2018, sought the advice of the Council of State, in accordance with Article 70(2) of the Constitution, for the appointment of a new Chairperson, two Deputy Chairpersons, and a Member of the Electoral Commission (EC).

This follows the removal from office, on Thursday, 28th June, 2018, of the former Chairperson of the EC, Mrs Charlotte Osei, and the two deputies, Mr. Amadu Sulley and Mrs. Georgina Opoku Amankwah, by President Akufo-Addo, after the Committee established by the Chief Justice, Justice Sophia Akuffo, to investigate petitions brought against them, recommended their removal. Further, the retirement from office of Mrs. Pauline Dadzawa, a Member of the Commission, on Monday, 30m April, 2018, has created an additional vacancy in the Commission.

The following persons have, thus, been nominated for appointment by the President to fill these vacancies, subject to the advice of the Council of State:

  1. Mrs. Jean Adukwei Mensah — Chairperson
  2. Mr. Samuel Tettey — Deputy Chairperson
  3. Dr. Eric Asare Bossman — Deputy Chairperson
  4. Ms. Adwoa Asuama Abrefa — Member of the Commission

President Akufo-Addo is hopeful that the Council of State will discharge its constitutional duty expeditiously, to enable him make these critical appointments to this very important institution of State.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *